What I Dream in Electronic Sleep

I’ve been reconsidering my type assignment and like Claire thought I’d mention some of the changes I completed this past week. The current adjustments (for the most part) are what were suggested in class, but I will continue to make others. All my quotes, apostrophes, and m-dashes were corrected with the proper HTML code. I centered the pull quote text, removed the bolding, and inserted the proper code for quotation marks and m-dashes. I also added the “last updated” snippet of code (taken, of course, from Dr. Petrik’s class page) and reduced the padding between my paragraphs. Dr. Petrik suggested making my rulers (rules?) shorter, but I chose a different route in lessen their impact. To make them shorter, I assumed I’d have to make a div (or something similar) and set it’s width to something less than the width of the content div. A very easy fix, but I wanted to try lightening their color to see if that would lessened their impact. I like the rulers going completely across the content area, but if that breaks the flow up too much then it’s a problem. If softening the color doesn’t significantly change their impact, I’ll make them shorter. Finally, I changed my nav in the sidebar. I changed the font to Linden Hill and altered the text-alignment to right justify. I also had the font switch from Linden Hill to Linden Hill Italic when you hover your cursor over the nav boxes. Let me know what you think so far.

The reason I’m really writing this blog post, however, is because I drew up a wireframe for what I really want my type assignment page to look like. Hopefully, after learning some Photoshop and more code I can actually produce what’s in my head. I haven’t decided if the title for my type assignment should be “Book Mark(er)” or “Trade Cloth.” The latter goes with the geography/place theme that I want to carry on through the portfolio, but I’ve always liked the term trade cloth (FYI: it’s a book industry term for a hardcover, another synonym would be cloth bound). So go ahead look at my wireframe and let me know if you have any suggestions on how I might begin to achieve the design. Thanks!

Editor’s Note: For my blog post response on some of the topics raised in our assigned readings, video tutorials, and my classmates’ blogs follow the jump.

The notes I've made on my wireframe may be a little hard to read, so if you have any questions let me know.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What I Dream in Electronic Sleep

  1. I like the update – the spacing between the paragraphs is much better (to my eyes, anyway).

    The hr is just a percentage width, like 90 or 50. But in your case the hr doesn’t extend all the way to the edge of the content box, it follows the same margins (padding?) as your paragraphs, so I think it looks quite nice.

Leave a comment